Set Apart

“To become a woman so saturated by the very presence of the Spirit of God in my life that it affects the very essence of who I am. “

That sentence was written on a 3×5 card and tucked into my Bible some 4 years ago. As a teenager just graduating from high-school, I may not have known much, but I did know that if there was one thing that mattered in this life, it was my relationship with Jesus. I had seen 4 women who had been utterly changed by the presence of Jesus and I wanted that. Those women had peace when they should have had worry. Those women were calm when they should have been frazzled, those women loved their husbands when they probably should have thrown in the towel, and those women held on to Christ through it all.

Looking back over those 4 years, my life certainly didn’t quite pan out the way I planned. I had every intention of graduating from college, and staring my career, and working, and saving, and saving and working, but instead here I am married, battling my body, some relationships, about to finish transcription education, and happy. But the one thing that hasn’t changed in those 4 years, is this: that sentence, that goal I set. I still want to be a woman that is changed because I know Jesus. I want to remember that I am set apart.

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.  Once you were not a people, but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.   1 Peter 2:9 (ESV)

I mentioned that there were 4 women who have been my role models, but sadly enough, there are even more women who I’ve known that weren’t great examples of being set apart. For some of them, I wouldn’t even know that they go to church, if it weren’t for the fact that I see them there. THAT is my biggest fear in this life. I don’t want anyone to have any doubts about the fact that Jesus has changed who I am. Jesus has done everything for me. He has picked me up out of the filth of sin and set me apart. He gave up His Son for me while I was still covered my gross mess of sin. What a small thing, for me to watch the way I treat others, or watch my tongue, or be careful of what I watch on TV. What a small thing for me dress in a way that is modest and feminine. What a small thing for me to be thought strange or different by the world’s standards if it means that I’m getting a chance to love Christ back just a little bit, in a small way, that doesn’t even begin to cover what He’s done for me.

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. Romans 12:2 (ESV)

Graceful, thankful, peaceful, calm. Loving, sweet, respectful, and kind. Those 4 women loved out loud and embodied each of those characteristics and more. I was blessed to get to spend one on one time with each of them, and if I could be just a fraction of what those ladies are then I would be happy.

I want to be different on purpose, set apart, and a woman who seeks to let Christ change who I am so that all that others see is His love through me.

Until next time,

Danaé

elliot

 

Leave a Reply

