ISTJ and Chronic Illness

I’ve always been interested in personality types. It’s just interesting to me to find out how people tic. I’m fluctuate between ISTJ and INTJ, ISTJ being slightly stronger. One of the common attributes of this type is that they are commonly found to have chronic illness. I was telling my husband this and wondering why, and he mentioned something interesting. He said that perhaps it’s not the personality type that causes the illness, but the illness that causes the personality type. Well duh!! Of course that’s it! That makes total sense! “And with that I will tell you how it was all done.” (Don’t mind the ‘Clue’ movie reference)

“ISTJs are responsible organizers, driven to create and enforce order within systems and institutions. They are neat and orderly, inside and out, and tend to have a procedure for everything they do.”

When one is diagnosed with chronic illness, after going through a mourning period, they come to discover that life can no longer continue the way it once did. There is no longer time for superfluous conversations and energy for spontaneity. In order to have energy and time for everything that needs to take place our days and weeks, things must be planned and thought out in advance.

“ISTJs like to know what the rules of the game are, valuing predictability more than imagination. They rely on their past experience to guide them, and are most comfortable in familiar surroundings.”

The most important thing to be organized for me is my schedule. My schedule needs to be organized by the beginning of the week so that I know how to preserve my energy throughout the week. Being unsure of when and how long an event may take can sometimes cause my health to spiral if I used too much energy earlier in the day or week.

Nearly  everything that is natural about an ISTJ becomes a necessity in order to function as a person with chronic illness.

Leave a Reply

