Lies Flee In The Presence Of Truth

It’s been a couple weeks since I’ve done an Uninvited post, so here we go.

Lamentations 3:24-26 “I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion;therefore I will wait for him.’ The Lord is good to those whose hope in in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” This is one of my favorite verses in the Bible. Not because I’ve got it down, but because it is a good reminder. I’ll be honest, I’m bad at being satisfied and I’m bad at waiting. I tend to think of waiting as a bad thing. I want to expedite the process as quickly as possible, but this verse says that waiting is actually good. When dealing with rejection, sometimes that rejection causes us to wait, and perhaps we are waiting because God has something better in mind.

That leads right into the next excerpt. God doesn’t always spell out for us why we are waiting, or what exactly we are waiting for. Sometimes He simply blindfolds us, grabs our hand, and says “trust me.” In those moments, Lysa states that prayer that she prays, and the one that I have prayed many times myself. “God I don’t understand this situation. But I do understand your goodness to me. I thank you for the protection that is part of this rejection even when I don’t see it. I trust You.” That is never easy to pray. Especially for someone like me who is a complete control freak. I don’t like not being able to understand. I often say to God, “If you would just show me what it is that you’re doing here, I would trust you.” But that’s not the kind of trust that God wants. He wants the kind that has nothing to do with the circumstances. He wants the kind that has everything to do with how you see Him and what you really believe to be true about Him.

There is someone out there who is trying to destroy us and distract us from what God wants for us. The devil isn’t just trying to trip us up or play with us and have fun, he’s actually out there trying to completely ruin us and yield us an ineffective. The devil loves to plant lies in our hearts that completely cripple us in fear and insecurity. But we have hope in the fact that “Lies flee in the presence of truth.” When we combat the lies that devil throws at us with the truth, like Jesus did when He was tempted, the devil has no choice but to flee. Lysa reminds us that we must be always vigilant of what we are putting in our minds and what we are dwelling on. Those inner deep thoughts are where our heart hold it’s loyalty. We must always be careful to guard our hearts.

redo

Even when you’re overlooked by others, you are handpicked by God. In her  book, Uninvited, New York Times bestselling author Lysa TerKeurst will help you live like you really believe that truth! You can get your copy by going to http://www.uninvitedbook.com.

Leave a Reply

