Living Loved

daisy-712898_1920

Here we go with our second post on Lysa TerKeurst’s book “Uninvited”

The first post is here:

https://jaycoxpartyof2.wordpress.com/2017/01/16/uninvited-living-loved-when-you-feel-less-than-left-out-and-lonely/

The title of chapter 3 had me from the start.

“There’s a lady at the gym who hates me.”

Yeah…I’ve been there. Someone looks at me a little funny and I’m convinced that they have some vendetta out against me and will kill me in my sleep. Just lately actually, I’ve realized how off my perspective can be sometimes. There was a sweet young lady who I met through some friends and for some reason we just didn’t get off to a good start. To me, it seemed like she was kinda snobby. It seemed she was only interested in getting to know the other girl in the group and I was an afterthought. Several months later I found out that we actually had similar personalities and once we started talking and getting to know each other, we really hit it off and I’ve gained a new friend.

Why is it that we try so hard to get into other people’s heads? We have no way of knowing what they’re actually thinking. We have no way of knowing what it is that is really going on in their heart.

But that’s not really what I want to focus on. In “Uninvited” Lysa tells us that the key to not getting our hearts broken with every unpleasant look is this: “Living Loved”. She says…

” Live from the abundant place that you are loved, and you won’t find yourself begging others for scraps of love”.

Wow! Think about that. Why is it that we get so easily upset? Why do we base our entire worth in how someone looks at us or how someone behaves toward us? We are trying to get our love and acceptance from that person alone. That’s an order that they can’t fill. We simply can not expect other people to fill us with the love that we can only get from Christ.  For example, If I expect my husband to bring me chocolate and roses every single night, then I’m going to be disappointed and when he doesn’t do it. When he does do it,  then it won’t be special because it will have become an expectation and requirement for my happiness. The same goes for relationships. If I imagine exactly how I want a relationship to go, then I’m going to be terribly disappointed when it doesn’t turn out how I want it to.

When someone doesn’t follow through with the love we crave, then we feel completely rejected. But when we choose to “live loved” we already have all of the love that we crave. We already have the love we need so we can even let some of that love overflow to the unlovely person.

“Living loved is sourced in your quiet daily surrender to the One who made you.”

When we spend part of our day surrendering to our Creator God, we are acknowledging the fact that His love and power and grace are enough, even when other people try to tell us that we aren’t enough.

So this week I’ve been focusing on trying to live loved. While sometimes mean things people say still hurt a little, it doesn’t mess up my whole day because I know that their love isn’t the only love that matters. The love of my God is the most important and when I can tap into that love, it changes everything.

zephaniah-3_17

Even when you’re overlooked by others, you are handpicked by God. In her new book, Uninvited, New York Times bestselling author Lysa TerKeurst will help you live like you really believe that truth! You can get your copy by going to http://www.uninvitedbook.com.

Leave a Reply

