Marriage Update! Month #3

Yesterday Josiah and I celebrated our three month anniversary! Marriage is still the best thing ever! We celebrated by taking a lovely afternoon nap after church. Lame yes, but much needed and much enjoyed! So without further ado, let’s jump right in to month 3.

 

FUN ADVENTURES:

One night this month I was tired of being in the house and wanted to get out…the catch was, it was nearly 10:00pm when I mentioned this. “Where do you want to go?” Josiah asked. “I don’t know.” was my reply, so we just jumped in the car and started driving. We ended up in Pea Ridge. We drove around, then turned around and headed back home by way of Walmart. By now it was around 11:30pm, neon blue hair, rowdy teenagers, and half asleep employees were only a few of the interesting people we ran into. Unfortunately we did not snap any pictures on this adventure.

We also enjoyed an afternoon wandering through Crystal Bridges. We’ve been there many times, but they often acquire new artwork, and it’s a lovely, quiet place to stroll in the air-conditioning.

Speaking of air-conditioning we went on several outdoor walks without lovely air-conditioning and did our fair share of sweating as we enjoyed the fresh air and the beautiful scenery.

FRIENDS AND FAMILY FUN:

We are loving the great community of young people we’ve found in our church family. We had a cookout/gamenight with them this month and enjoyed having fun with the great, godly people that we’ve gotten to know better over the last few months. It’s so fun to be around encouraging friends!

We also enjoyed having Josiah’s family over for dinner this month. It was our first official dinner party and I would call it a success and a learning experience. Someday I will be able to entertain flawlessly! We enjoyed getting to spend some extra time with them and having them into our home.

SURPRISES:

My sweet Josiah came home the other day with beautiful sunflowers! I love fresh flowers and the sunflowers are absolutely beautiful on our table!

14263984_10210445438751604_8092052877209635543_n

FOOD:

I really wish I would have thought to take pictures like all of those foody blog people, but alas, I can never remember to do that in the moment, but I do have a recipe for this month.

GARLIC RANCH CHICKEN AND VEGGIES: (Gluten Free as always)

2-4 Boneless skinless chicken thighs

1/2 cup of brown sugar

olive oil

Assorted Veggies: our favorites include:

1-2 small zucchini cubed

1-2 red skinned potatoes cubed

1-2 large carrots cubed

6 medium baby bella mushrooms sliced

1 onion sliced

1 packet of Ranch seasoning (name brand is gluten free. Be careful with the off brands)

2-3 cloves of garlic minced

Salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Line baking sheet with aluminium foil. Drizzle olive oil on the foil.

Generously rub approximately 1 tablespoon of brown sugar on and into each chicken thigh until well covered. Place chicken on tray. Cube and slice all the veggies and sprinkle over the chicken. Drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle ranch seasoning over the chicken and veggies. Flip the chicken over to cover both sides of the chicken with ranch seasoning. Sprinkle garlic over the chicken and veggies. Place in oven and bake for 25-30 minutes or until veggies are tender and chicken juices run clear. Remove from oven and let rest for 5-10 minutes.

Since we don’t have dishwasher in our apartment, we love recipes that require minimal dishes and this one is a favorite!

Also included in the food section should be that my sweet husband made dinner the other night. He doesn’t have a lot of cooking experience, but he did so great and it turned out so well! I’m quite proud of him.

COURSEWORK:

I’m still typing away and getting closer to finishing my course. I had an exam this month and scored in the top bracket. I’m very excited to finish up and start working.

MISHAPS AND BLUNDERS:

So…I sorta spilled water all over my laptop a couple weeks ago. Like, all over. Like, a whole 24 ounces of ice water all over my laptop. Mind you, I use my laptop to do coursework. I use my laptop to pull up recipes for dinner. I use my laptop to blog. I use my laptop for entertainment. When it spilled I kinda just stood there is utter horror for a few seconds, hoping that what I saw before me was somekind of dream. Unfortunantely it wasn’t. So I quickly sopped up the mess and set my laptop upside down  to drain and dry out. A few hours later I picked it back up and still felt quite a bit of water there so I did the one thing I never thought I’d do. I proceeded to take my laptop apart. Next thing I know, my laptop is in pieces all over the living room floor. I dried everything out and then begged and pleaded with my sweet husband to put it all back together for me. He’s the sweetest! once it was back together, I turned my laptop on, and it still works! Well, almost. The touchpad doesn’t work, but thankfully I have a USB mouse that works great!

14202956_10210343689207929_240472210_o

WHAT GOD IS UP TO:

We started attending the membership class at our church on Sunday. We are excited to take this next step as a couple and be able to serve along side the other believers.

We are learning to trust the Lord along every step. With some uncertainty with Josiah’s work situation and me not working just yet, it is necessary to trust Him at every turn. He is faithful and He doesn’t leave us hanging. We have seen Him provide in lots of ways and we look forward to seeing what He will continue to do next month.

LOOKING AHEAD:

Josiah and I are planning a zoo trip this weekend! Well actually I have a doctor’s appointment in Kansas City, but it’s close to the zoo so we’re gonna go! I haven’t been to the zoo since probably 2007! I can’t wait!

 

Our monthly picture kinda got pushed to the end of the night after we were already in bed with glasses on and hair a mess, but hey we didn’t forget!

14341866_1384215874941214_515042543_n

Overall we are loving this wonderful thing called marriage. It’s fantastic to always be able to wake up next to your best friend every morning.

 

Leave a Reply

