2 Month Marriage Update

So I decided that I’m gonna do a monthly post for at least the first year of our marriage. I figure it will be a good way to reflect, record, and learn from our adventures. I’ll do similar categories each month. Month 2 is gonna be a few days late, but here we go anyways.

Fun Adventures:

We housesat/dogsat for my parents for a whole week this month while they took a much needed vacation. It was a little further to drive to work, but my sweet husband endured just so that I could spend the days with my puppy dog (who misses me almost as I miss her)

20160819_135215
My sweet girl!

We discovered a new trail super close to our apartment. It had some streams and little waterfalls, and was super shady and pretty. We plan to take a few more walks there in the near future.

20160805_141139.jpg
Massive heart-shaped leaf

 

We had a fantastic date day last Saturday which included  a haircut for my sweet man, our first putt-putt adventure together, smoothies from Tropical Smoothie Cafe (my favorite), a trip to see the new female Ghostbusters movie, yummy Chinese takeout, and snuggles on the couch while watching the original Ghostbusters. It was a wonderful day just having  fun and reconnecting a bit.

 

Yummy Meals: 

I’m trying all kinds of new recipes these days and one of my sweet husband’s favorites from this month was CROCKPOT BUFFALO CHICKEN. I like it cause it’s easy, and Josiah likes it because it’s yummy. It’s one of those super quick “dump and you’re done” recipes. We don’t even bother with the buns and just like to eat the chicken plain or with tortilla chips. Here’s the link to the recipe:

God and I Time:

We’ve been figuring out this month how to fit our Jesus time into our days and becoming more comfortable with keeping each other accountable. It’s been fun to see what the other is learning and discovering the ways that the Lord is working in each other’s lives.

We’ve also been praying together more this month which is also a neat time where the Lord draws us closer to himself and to each other.

Favorites:

So, here’s a little back story for ya: Our tiny little apartment doesn’t have a dishwasher, so we’ve been doing all of our dishes by hand. We bought a cheap little brush set and have already destroyed both of the brushes! So while I was out with my mom, we found some brushes and she got us a couple. I love both of them and they clean so much better than the little cheap ones from Walmart! One of them even has a frog face, and if you know me, you know I love frogs!!  It’s the small things that make me happy.

20160819_134152.jpg

I finally got my wedding band and my engagement ring soldered. I love it!

20160819_135054.jpg

 

One day this month, my sweet husband surprised me with a sweet treat from edible arrangements. He spoils me!

20160819_134357.jpg

Coursework:

I’m currently studying online to become a medical transcriptionist and editor. I’ve been working on it for close to a year now. I’ve been struggling with burn out a little bit as it’s been the same thing everyday since before the wedding. But I’m slowly trudging along and finally making more and more progress.

Projects: 

As you may know I’ve been doing meal plans for us each week. I was tired of losing the list of the meals I was going to prepare of it getting spilled on, so I came up with this nifty creation. Each block contains a day of the week and the meal that we will have that day. Saturday and Sunday are almost always blank as we eat leftovers on the weekends. I put the whole thing in a sheet protector and hang it on the fridge and write with a dry erase marker so I can use it week after week and change my mind as often as I need too. It’s been great to help us stay organized.

20160819_134231.jpg

For my bridal shower the sweet ladies in the church started a really cool scrapbook calendar for Josiah and mine’s first year of marriage. I have a few months that I get to finish on my own and it has been so much fun! It’s mostly stickers and I love stickers. I’m down to finishing up the last month and I love how it’s turned out. It’s pretty fun to see the pictures of Josiah and I and remember some fun times together.

 

 

So that’s it’s for this month. I’ll probably modify how I do this as I go along. I look forward to sharing our first year of marriage with you!

Blessings,

Mrs. Jaycox

 

Leave a Reply

